Coming soon from state51: Dan Michaelson


We’re delighted to announce that Dan Michaelson and the Coastguards‘ new album Memory will be released by The state51 Conspiracy label on May 6th. Preorders are now being taken.

Memory is the follow up to 2014’s much-celebrated Distance and the final instalment in an album trilogy that commenced with Blindspot in 2013.

Memory retains the epic minimalism characteristic of Distance and Blindspot; disarmingly sparse arrangements and high quality musicianship giving prominence to Michaelson’s expertly crafted, emotional songwriting.


How to buy the album 

Memory will be released in May and is available for order now on digital from iTunes, Amazon and Greedbag and on vinyl and CD from Amazon (Vinyl / CD) and Greedbag.

Dan Michaelson and the Coastguards are Dan Michaelson (vocals, guitar, piano), Henry Spenner (drums), Laurie Earle (guitar, piano) and Horse (guitar).

Joining them on Memory are Romeo Stodart of The Magic Numbers (bass), Ali Friend (double bass), Gabriel Stebbing (cello), Johnny Flynn (violin and flugelhorn), Jin Theriault (baritone sax), Yusuf Narcin (trombone) and Christo Squire (alto sax).

You can listen to the previous instalments in the trilogy on Spotify, or via your other favourite retailers such as Greedbag, iTunesApple Music and Amazon.